6 comments on “Cirrus Logic audio card for the Raspberry Pi

  1. Hi Alan, Graham (Sonos) here. Thanks for the earlier discussion, and you should now also have my email address. I’m very interested in your work with the Pi as well. I work with Hospital radio and for some while have been considering the Pi to relay remote events back to our studio… unsuccessfully as I am not a programmer and got lost with much of the OpenOB issues. You seem to have got it going well so would be interested to know more about if you did the coding (which you don’t talk too much about), or you had a solution provided. I’ve also heard that using an external soundcard is the right way to go with the Pi, and you seem to have the proof of that. Well done and I look forward to hearing further from you on this.
    Best regards.

    • Hello Graham,
      Funny old world eh? I actually telephoned a local hospital to see if they would be interested, said they would call me back for that interview, still waiting lol..

      I’ve used this setup on the 3G network, there’s a touch of lag, was hoping to see if I could figure out a way for two way audio, probably can be done, but I’m not perusing that angle just now.

      The image file I have used for the Pi is freely available, though the darkice configuration file has to be changed so that it will point to your nominated server or PC running icecast – A PC at the hospital can be used as a relay and feed into the main hospital audio mixing desk, hey presto.

      I’m not much of a coder myself, others have done that hard work leaving me open for creative ways to use their hard work. However, setting up Icecast on a PC and configuring the darckice.cfg on the raspberry pi is easy. Set it up for mono or stereo, with different bit-rates, as long as the 3G network has the bandwidth/good signal.. would be a very useful tool in the journalist bag.

      There are two sound cards I use for the Raspberry Pi, the least noisy one is the cirrus logic, then there is the behringer UCA202 USB

      I can remote connect to all my devices – even from my iPhone ssh to edit files on the Raspberry Pi, awesome. even TightVNC the PC too if needed, from the iPhone!!

      If you want to do a test I’m up for it.

      Regards
      Alan

  2. Hi Alan !
    I’m Victor, working in a community radio in Paris. We bought a Cirrus Logic card with our Raspberry pi B+ to stream some radio shows in very light conditions (and i’m seriously thinking of making our own binaural head for next year for our radiophonic creation festival called “Brouillage” :)) , i’m no new to linux but whoa, what a mess to make that Cirrus card working ! I’m currently drowning in my researchs…
    Where did you get that image file you were talking about ? I succefully installed Raspbian and Darkice but i’m stuck with the Cirrus for days, I don’t understand why it’s so painfull to get it to work properly and why there is such a lack of documentation…
    Thanks !

    You’re doing a great job with Binaural ! I’m trying to spread the word around it, especially to show that we can make great things without that Neumann million dollar head… And that it’s not reserved to big national radio R&D labs but even us at small community radios we can use it very easily.

    Best regards

    • Hello Victor,

      Thank you for your message.

      The image is easy to find, though before connecting to the Internet with the Pi, suggest you change the darkice.cfg for your own use, else it will stream to the servers in France as a test stream. Else you could create an account with them and join in with the world microphone thing they are doing.

      Seems they have updated their website:
      http://www.soundtent.org/how_to/pi_streaming_download.html

      My latest microphone improvement:

      Have fun, just remember once you’ve written the iso to disk, do not update the raspberry pi… no no sudo apt-updates!!! no… no…. no!
      okay?! else you will break the configuration.

      Have fun, you will be streaming in no time.
      Alan

      • Oh yes it works fine ! We had our first live night radio show last Sunday between 1 and 2 am and it worked like a charm
        I just need to figure how to safely shutdown the PI with a switch, GPIOs and some Python script to avoid SD corruption.
        Thanks for the link ! When I asked you I had it opened in my browser but I didn’t look at it… Their projects are very great !

        Regards

Leave a Reply

